Handy’s Heat

A Submission for the Monteleone Cocktail Contest

As has been posted on several notable cocktail blogs, The Monteleone Hotel in New Orleans is hosting an online contest (in conjunction with Tales of the Cocktail) to find a new official Monteleone Cocktail, the original recipe for which was lost in the haze of the 1970′s (not a good decade for cocktails I guess). The winner will receive four nights lodging at The Monteleone during this year’s Tales gathering.

Now, I hadn’t been thinking of entering this but a couple days ago I was egged on to do so by my erstwhile business partner Ted Munat. Actually, I think Ted is hoping I win so that he can crash for free in my room. We’ll see about that.

Anyway, after putting some thought into what would make an appropriate Monteleone, I decided that in consideration of the fact it would be spending the rest of its life in New Orleans, it would need to “bow” in two specific directions:

First, towards The Quarter, meaning rye and absinthe.

Second, towards the Bayou, meaning cajun spice and heat.

After some tinkering, here’s what I came up with:

The Monteleone Cocktail (AKA Handy’s Heat)

2 oz. Sazerac Rye (or Thomas Handy Rye for more depth and kick)
1 oz. Orange Juice
1/2 oz. Lime Juice
1/2 oz. Agave Nectar
1/4 tsp Absinthe
5 drops Chili Tincture (see recipe below)

Shake well over ice. Double strain into a chilled coupe. Lime peel garnish.

Here’s a photo of the finished drink, which I must say went down very nicely every time I made it this weekend:

Monteleone Cocktail (AKA Handy's Heat) by Michael Lazar

Chili Tincture (ala Erik Adkins/Jon Santer)

Fill a jar with de-stemmed, intact Thai (or other small, hot) chilies and cover with Wray & Nephew Overproof rum for two weeks. Strain out chilies and store tincture in a sealed container. Handle this stuff with care!

6 Responses to “Handy’s Heat”

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes that will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  2. This excellent website definitely has all the
    information I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  3. I want to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I absolutely loved every
    bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

  4. Some notable hosts that you may already be familiar with are: Go
    - Daddy vs. The c – Panel program lets you put popular
    apps on your site without complicated coding. Knowing where to
    store website files is one consideration that most beginners are not sure of and need some help understanding.

  5. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Ie.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do
    with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to
    let you know. The design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Thanks

  6. hello there and thank you in your information ? I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however experience some technical points the use of this website, as I experienced to reload the website lots of instances prior to I may just get it to load properly. I have been brooding about in case your hosting is OK? Now not that I am complaining, however slow loading circumstances occasions will sometimes impact your placement in google and can injury your quality ranking if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am including this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much extra of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this once more very soon..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

